Bilsthorpe Colliery Memorial Statue
Bilsthorpe Colliery Memorial Statue in memory of those who worked at the Bilsthorpe stood at the entrance to the colliery. It was moved after the pit closed in 1997 to inside the gates at the UDM Offices at Berry Hill, Mansfield. In late 2014 the statue was moved again and now stands imposingly at the entrance to the Bilsthorpe Heritage Museum to the rear of the Village Hall, Cross Street, Bilsthorpe.
Members of Bilsthorpe Heritage Society with the display and some of the Bilsthorpe Colliery exhibits at Millgate Museum, Newark, are, left to right, Mr Bob Bradley, of Mansfield Woodhouse, Mr Eric Purdy, of Bilsthorpe,
Mr Morris Goodman, of Rainworth, and (seated) his brother, Mr Trevor Goodman of Bilsthorpe
Mining Memorabilia On Display
An Exhibition Of Mining Memorabilia Was On Show
Bilsthorpe Heritage Society took its roadshow to Millgate Museum, Newark in 2010, where it was on display for seven weeks. It was well attended by visitors.
The exhibition featured many items related to Bilsthorpe Colliery, sunk in the 1920s and closed in 1997. The display included lamps, helmets, tools, models of mining equipment and many photographs of Bilsthorpe and otherNottinghamshire pits.
Fourteen workers, many of them poor Irish immigrants escaping famine, were killed in one incident in 1927 whilst sinking the mine.
They were buried in a communal grave in St Margaret's churchyard and the Society organised a Memorial for the men and traced relatives, some from the USA, who attended a service of remembrance in the village.
Members of the Society visit schools where pupils are told about coal mining and are given the opportunity to have hands-on experience with mining articles. The Chairman of the Society Mr Trevor Goodman, of Bilsthorpe, says because there is less reliance on fossil fuels to heat homes these days, some children have never seen coal before.
Mr Goodman, a former Joiner and Shaftsman at the pit, said the village was very supportive of their efforts.
A Memorial lamp sculptured from stone, bearing all the names of the 77 killed at the Colliery was paid for by Nottinghamshire County Council and stands in a Memorial garden planted with trees and flowers, located at the junction of Church Street and Crompton Road, and is tended by members of the Society.
Bilsthorpe Colliery is the only pit nationally to have a woman surface worker listed among its fatalities.
The winning design of the Memorial was chosen from a selection of drawings submitted by pupils at the local school. Many children from the school attended the opening ceremony.
The Heritage Society opened its own Museum to the public in 2014 following several years of organising the many artefacts and hundreds of photographs plus a unique collection of letters from 1923 to 1997 and an alphabetical card record of most of the miners who worked at the Colliery. The Museum has a charitable status and is situated to the rear of the Village Hall on Cross Street in Bilsthorpe.
--<Click Here To Go To Article>--
Bilsthorpe Heritage Trail